A Film from #Disabled Artist and Activist @RGPLizCrow “Which part of me goes to this tribunal”? #beddingout

Quinonostante

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GU0mDYs0uYI

Published on Feb 1, 2013

Bedding In Bedding Out: Reflections from the Bed

Exhibited beyond a red rope barrier, a woman lies in her bed.

Bedding In Bedding Out is a live durational performance by artist-activist Liz Crow. It emerges from the current welfare benefits overhaul, which threatens many with poverty and with a propagandist campaign that has seen disability hate crime leap by 50%.

Says Liz, “I wear a public self that is energetic, dynamic and happening. I am also ill and spend much of life in bed. The private self is neither beautiful nor grownup, it does not win friends or accolades, and I conceal it carefully.
“But for me, along with thousands more, the new system of benefits demands a reversal: my public self implies I don’t need support and must be denied, whilst my private self must be paraded as justification for the state’s support.
“For…

View original post 211 more words

Leave a Reply

