What’s Walmart up to Now?

The View from a Drawbridge

Okay, I’ve already established in an earlier blog entry that I’m no fan of Walmart, but I felt this new development deserved an entry, too. To further their quest for total world domination, Walmart has begun branching out. They call these new stores “Walmart Neighborhood Markets”. Basically they are grocery stores, pure and simple. One just popped up in my neighborhood, like a mushroom, overnight. When I drive by that place it gives me the creeps.

Think about it. When the regular Walmart stores started cropping up everywhere, nobody thought much about it. But then they started appearing in small towns, and inevitably every small mom and pop store within a 10 mile radius wound up closing its doors. They just couldn’t compete with Walmart’s prices and extensive inventory. When those shops closed, the jobs went with them. Sure, a lot of those people got jobs at the Walmart–underpaid, soul-sucking…

View original post 248 more words

3 Comments

  1. Posted August 12, 2013 at 10:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for the reblog, Richard!

    • Posted September 3, 2013 at 6:21 am | Permalink | Reply

      Thank you!I must admit that when I first started this WP thing, never did I imagine anyone would take notice of it. I just thought I could read stuff that interested me, and that was all. In the process it’s educated me in more ways than one, as I’ve seen a different point of view on so many subjects, points of view that I’d find hard to get to read. As you can see, I’d never in a million years be able to write a blog as, my grammar is awful, I couldn’t be succinct, etc. In a word I tend to whitter which even annoys me at times! But that’s me, and I take my hat off (if I wore one) to all you good people who can do it! Better leave it at that before the whittering really takes off! Again a big thank you plus apologies for not replying sooner.

      • Posted September 3, 2013 at 11:26 am | Permalink

        It’s a pleasure to meet someone who is so curious about life and learning, and who knows his strengths and weaknesses. However I suspect that you’d be better at this writing thing than you realize! Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

