Here I Am

The View from a Drawbridge

When I was a little kid, my self-esteem was so low that I actually thought that when I was out of people’s sight, I no longer existed for them. Kind of like my own personal Schrödinger’s cat thought experiment, I had to be observed to be sure I was actually alive.

Needless to say with age I have become more grounded in reality and more confident, but to this day when someone does something nice for me outside of my presence, it never fails to bring happy tears to my eyes, sentimental fool that I am. It could be something as simple as picking me up something that I like at the grocery store even though I haven’t asked for it, or “I saw this help wanted ad and thought you might be perfect for it.” Anything that implies that someone was thinking of me when I wasn’t there…that’s…

View original post 38 more words

Leave a Reply

